The Canadian Society for Circumpolar Health was formally organized in May, 1984 in Anchorage, Alaska at the time the 6th International Symposium on Circumpolar Health. The Society became a charter member of the International Union for Circumpolar Health in March 1986 in Stockholm, Sweden.



The late Dr. Otto Schaefer was unanimously elected as Honorary President and Honorary Lifetime Member. A fourteen member executive and regional advisory board was elected with representatives from Aboriginal organizations and geographical areas across Canada.


Past Presidents of the Society include:


325 Wellington St North, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, L8L 0A4 | Tel: +1 905-521-2100 x77255 | Fax: +1 905-521-7968 | Email: info@csch.ca |